Marvel is one of the biggest movie franchises in the world. With the Avengers series, The Guardians of the Galaxy sequels, and many more movies and series, Marvel offers a massive library of movies and TV shows. Knowing which movies to watch and in what order can be a daunting task. To help you understand and explore the Marvel universe, we put together this guide on how to watch all the Marvel movies in order.

The Marvel Cinematic Universe

The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) refers to movies and TV series from Marvel Studios. Marvel is a subsidiary of The Walt Disney Company, and sells the rights and properties it owns to outside production companies. On April 24, 2019, Marvel announced thatPhase 4 of its MCU would begin, and it will feature a plethora of additional movies, TV shows and video games.

How to Watch Marvel Movies in Chronological Order

There are several ways to watch Marvel movies, and one of the best ways is by watching them in chronological order. Chronological order ensures that you understand all the characters, plot points and easter eggs involved. By watching them in this order, you’ll get a full understanding of the events that have led up to Phase 4 and what’s going on in the MCU now.

Here is the chronological order to watch all the Marvel movies:

  1. Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  2. Captain Marvel (2019)
  3. Iron Man (2008)
  4. Iron Man 2 (2010)
  5. The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  6. Thor (2011)
  7. The Avengers (2012)
  8. Iron Man 3 (2013)
  9. Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  10. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  11. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  12. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  13. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  14. Ant-Man (2015)
  15. Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  16. Black Panther (2018)
  17. Doctor Strange (2016)
  18. Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  19. Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  20. Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  21. Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018)
  22. Avengers: Endgame (2019)
  23. Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019)

It’s worth noting that a few standalone Marvel movies, such as The Incredible Hulk, don’t have any major plot points in them. You can watch those after watching The Avengers, which brings the characters together for the first time.

Where you can watch Marvel movies

Most of the movies on the list are available in streaming services, including Disney+, Netflix and Hulu. For example, all of the Captain America, Iron Man and Avengers movies are on Disney+.

Netflix has the MCU TV shows such as Daredevil and Luke Cage, and Hulu carries MCU movies like Thor: The Dark World, Guardians of the Galaxy, Ant-Man and Captain Marvel.

It’s also possible to purchase individual movies on services like Apple TV, Amazon Prime Video, Google Play and Vudu.

Alternative Ways to Watch Marvel Movies

If you don’t feel like watching all the movies in chronological order, you can try watching them by release date instead. This is a great way to relive the excitement of each movie’s release.

Alternatively, you could watch the movie series by character. For example, you could watch all the Iron Man movies first and then move on to all the Captain America movies.

Another fun way to approach this is to watch the movies based on their genres. For example, you could start by watching the comic book-style movies like Iron Man and Captain America, then watch the science fiction-style movies like Guardians of the Galaxy, followed by the action-adventure movies like Thor: Ragnarok and then the fantasy-style movies like Doctor Strange.

No matter which approach you take, this guide should help you understand the order in which to watch all the Marvel movies and TV shows. Even if you’ve already seen a few of the movies, it’s always worth watching again, especially in chronological order. This is a great way to appreciate the way the events of the Marvel Cinematic Universe unfold. So grab some popcorn, sit back and enjoy!